Maynards Wine Gums

Can I whine about Wine Gums for a minute? And no, I’m not going to apologize for that terrible pun because bad puns are the best 🙂

Everyone I know loves wine gums and honestly, I don’t understand the appeal. My husband, who rarely buys candy, comes home with bags of wine gums more often than any other candy. I have friends who bring wine gums to movie theatres and co-workers who will break their ‘clean eating streaks’ for a bite into a wine gum. Sure, the flavours are good but the candies themselves are way too chewy for my liking. I have yet to eat a wine gum without nearly breaking my jaw and getting candy stuck in every nook and cranny of my teeth. Even the fresh ones are hard to chew. So ya, I think they’re tasty but not worth the effort because the consistency is terrible.

Maynards are the original wine gums and come in five shapes – oval, diamond, circle, rectangle and crown – with five different labels on the candies including port, sherry, burgundy and claret. As a side note, wine gums don’t contain any alcohol.  I used to think they did but now I realize how absurd it would be to sell alcoholic candies to children. They’re also not flavoured like liquor (for obvious reasons).

If you love wine gums then you’re probably going to love Maynards. They’re a classic version of this treat. But, if you’re like me, you’d much prefer to snack on a bag of Starburst Gummies or Trolli Cherry Bombers.

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

