South Africa’s Unique Peppermint Crisp Chocolate Bar

I love the idea of trying candies from different countries because in a small way, it gives me a glimpse into how people enjoy life elsewhere.

I’ve always wanted to travel to South Africa. It just seems like such a beautiful country with lots to do, and after taste-testing this chocolate bar, I’m inclined to think that if I visited, I would have fun getting to “know” the country’s assortment of chocolate treats. Nestle Peppermint Crisp was invented (and sold almost exclusively) in South Africa and it’s unique. The bar has a milk chocolate coating with tiny bright green mint straws on the inside. The straws are hard (but tiny) and like the packaging suggests, they ‘crackle’ when you bite into them. The inside reminded me of a crystal you might find at a kid’s science museum both in colour and texture. Here’s a picture:

photo source

When I first bit into the chocolate bar, I didn’t like that it crackled because the green mint fell apart in my mouth. But, it grew on me and by the third bite I was in love. The crumbly straws melt in your mouth and the peppermint flavour is strong and blends perfectly with the chocolate.

I strongly suggest you give the Peppermint Crisp a try. It was such a different type of chocolate bar and it was really really good. I even managed to share it with my husband and his friend and they both loved it too.

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

