Why I love Bubble Gum Cigarettes Even Though They Taste Bad

My husband Ian says I’m a terrible candy blogger because I make “emotional decisions” about candy. He thinks that I decide whether or not I like something based on my personal attachment to the product. To be honest, he’s right. I do like candy that evokes happy memories from me.

For example, whenever I eat gummy worms, I’m reminded of Pete’s Variety Store where my sisters and I used to buy ‘worms and dirt’ (aka candy worms hidden among Oreo cookie crumbs). Sure, it wasn’t – and isn’t – the tastiest treat in the world, but we liked it because it was a tradition and today we like it because it takes us back to being kids.

And really, aren’t some of our best memories made around food? So why should candy be any different?

Which brings me to today’s review:  Bubble Gum Cigarettes

Bubble Gum Cigarettes

If you remember my post on Popeye Candy Sticks you’ll recall that I was rather baffled by the fact that they still produce candy cigarettes for kids. But ya, they do.

These bubble gum cigarettes even have brown tips that look like filters taking the whole ‘let’s make smoking look fun and cool for kids‘ to a whole new level. Either way, they’re still pretty fun to whip out at a party. When I brought them out after dinner one night, everyone in my house had a good laugh and proceeded to share stories they had from eating them as kids.

Don’t get me wrong, the gum isn’t very good. It crumbles,  is relatively flavourless , the wrapper is hard to get off and the portion sizes are absurdly small. But still, there’s something really special about feeling nostalgic around candy, don’t you think?

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

