Here’s the thing about sour candies

sour-candies

Here’s the thing about sour candies….they’re good. They’re just so so good.

Am I riiiiiiiiight??!!!

I just can’t get enough of sour candies. I love chewy sour candies, hard sour candies, and don’t even get me started on those granulated sour ribbon things….yum. The only sour candies I don’t love are Sour Patched Kids and not because they aren’t delicious, but because my tongue takes a beating every time I eat them. I think its fair to say I don’t like food that leaves the inside of my mouth scrapped raw.

Today I thought I’d review three candies: Warheads Pucker Packs, Tart n tinys, and Airheads Extreme sourfuls.

First up: Warheads Pucker Packs

Arguably the best of the bunch. Each pack comes with a candy stick that you lick and then dip into a powdered sugar/sour concoction. I remember eating these a lot as a kid and the Warhead Pucker Packs are definitely one of the better versions. I think it helps that the candy sticks hold up and don’t break mid-dip. The powder is pretty sour but nothing like Warhead hard candies which make you want to cry. Instead, the fruity flavour and the sweetness from the candy stick make this one tasty treat.

Next up: Tart n’ Tinys

Um, can we take a moment to appreciate the name? I love it. Tart n’ tinys! It’s just so fun to say. These were super delicious. They’re small in size and have a very similar texture to Rockets (or Smarties for you Americans). Basically, they’re little powder bombs that are sour to boot! Seriously, don’t underestimate these bad boys. Throw a handful in your mouth and you’ll definitely taste their tartness.

Last up: Airheads Extreme Sourfuls

I wanted to like these. I really did. I liked the look of them, especially the colours and they sounded like they had some serious potential. The outside fruit flavour was delicious but each one was lightly dusted with a sugar that wasn’t very sour at all. When a candy is supposed to be sour I want it to have some punch. But what really turned me away from the Airhead Extreme Sourfuls was the inside. It was like a weird marshmallow texture that was sweet. What’s going on Airheads?? I thought these were supposed to be “extreme” but instead they tasted like semi-sour marshmallow-esque fruit filled tubes. Needless to say, I think I’ll be avoiding them in the future.

Hope you’re having a good week and don’t forget to enjoy the sweet stuff.

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

