Would you like some green tea with your KitKat?

kit-kat-2

Happy New Year!! Wow I can’t believe it’s already 2017. Wasn’t it just Y2K? My memories of everyone buying bottled water and canned goods before the ‘inevitable computer apocalypse’ is a little too vivid for it to have been seventeen years ago.

Anyways, I hope you had a wonderful holiday. Mine included way too many goodies and now I’m craving kale salads like no tomorrow.

I’ve been intrigued by green tea chocolates for a while now. I think it’s because tea doesn’t instantly make me think of dessert and it’s a bit hard to imagine what they taste like. I definitely see the appeal; tea is flavourful but not overpowering and chocolate is creamy and delicious but I wasn’t 100% sure what the two together would be like. That being said, I must be the only person who hasn’t tasted green tea chocolates because they’re everywhere!

You should know that these chocolate bars are pale green in colour. Please prepare yourself because they’re not the prettiest shade of green you’ve ever seen. In fact, they’re kind of ugly. After my initial disdain for the colour, I decided that it was better they were pale green than brown….right? :/

Given they’re KitKat bars I thought these chocolates would be super sweet but they weren’t. Instead, they were amazingly light and airy. The green tea flavour is subtle and soft, which I know is a weird way to describe chocolate but I’m literally at a lost for how else to describe the taste. Hmm…..think of eating a KitKat bar without the chocolate flavour and instead add a hint of green tea. Ya just like that.

Overall, I really enjoyed these green tea flavoured KitKats. They didn’t taste artificial and they were the perfectly creamy and light. Also, I thought the wafer in the middle helped break up the tea flavour and added some interesting texture.

Definitely a keeper.

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

