Baketember (aka a month of non-stop baking)

It might seem like I’ve been an absent blogger who does nothing but eats candy and sweets at home, but let me assure you that’s only partially true.

You see, my husband got me a Kitchenaid as an early Christmas present and I’ve spent most of December baking up a storm. First I made 100 chocolate crackle cookies, which are way easier than they look (unless you think they look easy).

375b442c21d6466f94c34869eea61f0a.jpg

Photo Credit

And then I was having so much fun that I made a four layer white chocolate/ dark chocolate cake for my friend’s birthday. The Kitchenaid made the whole process a thousand times easier but I still really struggled with the buttercream. Ugh it’s the worst! In part, I’m just not a big fan of buttercream but then when you couple that with the fact that it’s super hard to make…well frankly it’s like adding insult to injury.

I topped the cake with a chocolate ganache that looked so unappetizing that I decided to redo it and then covered the lamo ganache with tasty ganache. By then, I was on a roll and recovered the entire cake (four the fourth time) with chocolate covered strawberries and as.you can probably imagine it was exhausting. Not to mention stressful. My husband joked that I shouldn’t quit my  day job because making cakes for my friends seems to stress me out more than anything.

It was supposed to look like this:

capture

Photo Credit

Sadly, it did not. Oh well! In the end it tasted great so that’s something. Plus, I’m starting to think I’ll just stick to naked cakes or fondant. They’re both so much easier to work with.

After my cookies and cake, I decided to make another batch of cookies for my office holiday gift exchange. I went with a tea themed gift (mug, tea, Starbucks card) and included a box of these tea shaped cookies. Aren’t they they cutest?! They were insanely easy to make but a little time consuming.

8c1337ae75825c5b8b54fce0bd1d7dba

Photo Credit

So there you go, my December in a nutshell. Phew!

I can’t wait until the holidays. My brain needs a break from the new job and thesis writing and all I want to do is curl up on the couch with my family, play board games, and eat copious amounts of candy (obvs).

I’m also going to take some time to taste test a bunch of new candies because  Moe sent us a whole new package of goodies. I might also think about going for a long run to work off all this sugar….maybe.

Until then, enjoy the sweet stuff!

Urs

xx

Leave a Reply

