A&W Root Beer licorice and candy snobbery

dsc_3405

Yum root beer.

I wasn’t sure what to expect with this licorice. It sounds intriguing but as a general rule, I’m not a fan of food that mimics other types of food. Things like potato chips that taste like burgers, or marshmallows that taste like apple pie =  Ew. Call me a snob, but I like my candy to taste like candy, which ya, kind of makes me sound like a candy snob, but I’m okay with that.

We had a bunch of friends visiting us the other weekend and I decided it would be a perfect time to get some candy input, so I cracked open a bag of A&W Root Beer Licorice for everyone to try. Overall, the reviews were mixed. Me personally, I wasn’t a big fan. They weren’t bad they just weren’t exciting. I didn’t find myself reaching for another piece, which is a big red flag because normally I have no self-control :). Ian on the other hand loved them! Which makes me wonder, is there a pattern going on here? Wife hates it, husband loves it/ wife loves it, husband hates it. Hmm interesting…..

The rest of our candy taste testers enjoyed them except for our one friend but he dislikes licorice in general so he barely counts. Even still, nobody was ready to shout their love for A&W Root Beer Licorice out from the roof tops. And so, while it was a tasty snack food, I think it’s fair to say it wasn’t a beloved fan favourite.

On another note, this weekend, I’ve committed myself to baking 96 cookies. Why? Because I foolishly signed up for my office cookie exchange thinking I’d have to bring in something like two dozen cookies, but instead, I need to make eight! Guess I’ll be busy in the kitchen come Friday afternoon.

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

