Knock Your Socks Off With the ‘Shock Challenge’

dsc_3319

I think we can all agree that aside from cranberries there is no fruit more sour than lemons. Knowing that, you can only imagine what these lemon-flavoured Shock candies taste like. They are sour, sour, sour. The catch is that you’re supposed to eat the entire packet in one-go in what’s called “The Shock Challenge”. Sounds easy right?

I brought a bunch of these popping candies to a party and filmed my friends eating them. I’d love to post the video but unfortunately, a few choice words were thrown around as I might have neglected to tell them that Shock candies are like a hundred times more sour than Pop Rocks. The funny thing was that everyone had more or less the same reaction: they’d eat the packet, look at me doubtfully, then slowly their face would change, their lips would pucker, their heads would start shaking, and then they’d start groaning. Basically they all had the same reaction as this kid:

Amazing. He makes me laugh every time.

Watching people suffer through the Shock Challenge reminded me of being in grade school when my friends and I would eat dry Koolaid packets at recess. We’d down the super concentrated sour stuff and then strut back into class with blue-stained mouths. Ugh, I shudder even thinking about it.

Have you ever done the Shock Challenge?

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

