Peeps in all their glory, or at the very least dipped in chocolate

peeps

Here are three fun facts I learned this week:

  • As of 2014, Peeps are sold year round and not just at Easter and Halloween. In fact, they’re new slogan is ” Peeps – always in season”. I suppose if you really love Peeps having access to them 365 days a year might make you happy, but personally, I miss the days when certain candies (ahem Cadbury Creme Eggs) were only available for a few weeks every year. It was a thousand times more fun and exciting.
  • Peeps are also shaped like bunnies (um what? How’d I not know that??).
  • For some unknown reason it never occurred to me to eat a Peep between two graham crackers like a s’more and now I’m sad.

I think that for the most part, people like me enjoy Peeps only because they’re a classic holiday treat. They’re not really that tasty since they’re basically just sugary marshmallows.

Or so I thought!

Apparently, marshmallows are so much better when dipped in chocolate or fudge. Yum yum yum. After taste testing both the orange Peeps dipped in orange fudge and the regular Peeps dipped in dark chocolate  I don’t think I’ll ever go back to a non-dipped Peep. Instead, it’s only going to be dipped Peeps from here on out. The chocolate on the bottom adds some much needed flavour and texture. Win win.

So if I could sum up my review in one sentence I’d say:

Regular Peeps = meh. Dipped Peeps = Yah!

(Okay, technically that was two sentences).

dsc_3373

For fun Peep eating and baking ideas check out my Facebook page .

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

