Hydrox are easily mistaken for Oreos in delicious Brownies

IMG_7797 (1)

Last week, I made a vegan cookie-brownie concoction and let me tell you, it was as tasty as it looks (see pic below).  To be honest, the fact that this treat was delicious wasn’t a big surprise because how can you mess up a brownie-cookie combo? Can you undercook them? Nope, that only makes it more delicious. So to the correct answer is that you can’t.

Knowing these brownies would be popular, I made a giant batch thinking I would take a picture for this blog. Little did I know that my extra batch would be secretly devoured in a matter of days and I would be left without any pictures or proof they even existed. So instead of an Appetite for Candy original photo you’re stuck with this even prettier picture by My Vibrant Kitchen (my photography skills aren’t quite up to snuff anyways).

vegan-oreo-brownies-3My Vibrant Kitchen

There were two things about these cookie-brownies that made them unique. First, they weren’t actually made with Oreos (despite the fact that I keep calling them Oreo brownies). They were made with Hydrox cookies which I had never heard of until Moe sent me a box. Apparently, Hydrox is the original Oreo and it makes me feel a bit bad that no one appreciates them for being the original creme-filled cookie trend setter.

So here’s a bit of back story:

Hydrox was originally introduced in 1908 as a creme-filled chocolate sandwich cookie (say that ten times). Oreo didn’t come onto the market until 1912 but it quickly eclipsed Hydrox in its popularity and poor little Hydrox became known as the ‘less good imitation cookie’. By 1999, it was discontinued. Meanwhile, Oreo’s popularity continued to soar. Kind of sad right? This original cookie became the detested underdog. But the good news is Hydrox was reintroduced in 2015 and is trying to make a comeback.

To be clear, Hydrox cookies are tasty. They are basically Oreos you don’t have to stretch your imagination too far in order to guess what they taste like. Still, I wanted to do a good comparison of the two so I picked up a box of Oreos and conducted my scientific taste-testing experiment.

As much as I love an underdog story, I have to say Oreo wins the battle. Hands down, they’re just better. The flavour is more chocolatey and the icing consistency is creamier (sorry Hydrox).

The second unique thing about these brownie-cookies was that they were vegan. The reason I made these vegan is not because I’m a vegan, but rather because I was a vegan and during that time I learned by accident that Oreos are in fact very vegan-friendly. I mean, they’re not good for you. Keep in mind that they’re made with hydrogenated oil and sugar but much to my surprise there is absolutely no animal products in them. So next time you have your vegan niece, neighbour, or friend over you can crack open a box of Oreos as a treat!

As a side note, this vegan cookie-brownie recipes required like no ingredients and they were in fact the easiest things in the world to make (flour, almond milk, cocoa, baking soda, and sugar). So basically, if your cupboards are running low on baking supplies, I strongly recommend you give this crowd pleasing treat a try. You won’t regret it.

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

