Feeling Underwhelmed by Bit-O-Honey

DSC_3302

By simply looking at this candy package can you guess what’s inside? Is it a honey-flavoured chocolate bar? Is it a combination of caramel and honey? Is it a peanut butter and honey medley? If you’re not sure, you’re not alone. The packaging does little to describe the actual product (aside from saying it’s “candy”), which isn’t a bad thing but it did mean I was somewhat surprised to find six individual pieces of honey-flavoured taffy wrapped in wax paper.

I grew up in a mid-size town with 330,000 people, although I use the term “mid-size” reluctantly. Now that I live in a town of 19,000 people I’m beginning to think of my former home as more of a sprawling metropolis. Anyways, in our “mid-size town” there were different neighbourhoods that were far enough a part that you could go years without visiting, or in my case, even knowing they existed. Take Wortley Village. It was far enough away that I didn’t enter my world until I turned ten and my sister started taking music lessons there. Being the youngest, I was forceably driven to what seemed like an impossibly far away and foreign area. In an effort to placate me (because I was an annoying ten year old), my Mom would take me to the public library to wait out my sister’s lesson. Next door to the library was a variety store where I was allowed to buy one treat. All of this is to say that in that tiny Wortley Village variety store I tried my first ever piece of caramel flavoured taffy and I fell in love.  It was magical and for a while I thought Wortley Village was the only place in the world that sold taffy.  And yes, this whole story is a long-winded way of saying that now when I eat taffy I think of Wortley Village, the public library and my sister’s music lessons.

So I probably should have loved Bit-O-Honey and been flooded with childhood memories right? Er, not exactly. I mean, I really wanted to like it. It had all the fixings of a good treat: individual sized pieces, chewy, soft, honey….but it just wasn’t my favourite. Ian absolutely hated it and our roommate took a hard pass on it. It made me wonder if caramel is perhaps a better flavour than honey? Or maybe it’s this particular taffy recipe? Either way, there was just something underwhelming about Bit-O-Honey. It reminded me of the kind of bland candy you might find at Grandma’s house (sorry Grandma), not bad, but it won’t get you excited the way a bag of Cadbury mini eggs does. Know what I mean?

On a completely unrelated note, I’m off to a bachelorette party this weekend which means….I’m making these brownies with Hyrdox cookies.

vegan-oreo-brownies-2

Recipe and Photo by My Vibrant Kitchen

I know right!! How good do they look??!

I’m also bringing along two bags of champagne and beer flavoured Jelly Bellies, which should be interesting. I’m pretty stoked and will be sure to gather some good feedback from the ladies to share with you next week.

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

