Whatchamacallit is easy to forget

20131022-whatchamacallit-bar-primary-thumb-625xauto-360362

The world seems to love Watchamacallit chocolate bars. I read one review that described the inside as “a shattered constellation of peanut butter and crips rice puffs, drifting on an oozing river of caramel in a delegate chocolate embrace” (Niki Achitoff-Gray, 2013). Reading this review, you can almost see the writer’s love and excitement for this chocolate bar. But to be honest, I found them to be pretty forgettable. In fact, I cared so little for this chocolate bar that I actually forgot to take a picture of it! Hence the internet photo above (link found here).

As per the packaging, this chocolate bar is filled with crispy rice pieces, peanut butter and caramel… sounds good right? Unfortunately, the bar was too hard and too crunchy despite the added caramel, which I thought might make it more chewy than it did. The main upside to the Whatchamacallit (aside from the name) had to be the peanut buttery flavour. Yum.

I was under the impression these chocolate bars were sort of like an American classic and I might have set myself up for failure since my hopes were pretty high. Feeling sorely let down by these bars, I soon discovered all sorts of recipes where people use Whatchamacallits as baking ingredients. Pinterest is full of Whatchamacallit cakes, brownies, cookies and cupcakes. I can’t help but think tasting some of these might change my tune….

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

 

Leave a Reply

