Sour Mike & Ike’s Are Better Than the Original

You might have read the title of this post and thought to yourself “well that’s a bit bold…” but let me assure it’s a 100%s true. I’d take a package of these sour Mike & Ike’s over the original flavoured ones any day!

Mike and Ike Sour

Aside from Junior Mints, there is nothing that reminds me more of movie theatre candy than Mike & Ike’s. For a long time it seemed like movie theatres were the only place to buy them but that was way back in the day when movies only cost $2 on a Tuesday. Now ‘cheap Tuesdays’ cost $12 a ticket, which is basically highway robbery. In an effort to save cash I’m forced to sneak in candy in my purse, so it’s been a while since I purchased a large box of Mike & Ike’s.

Le sigh, life is hard.

I’m a sour candy fiend. Seriously, I love the stuff and sour apple is my all-time favourite candy flavour. Don’t even get me started on green apple jolly ranchers, in fact that might have to be a post for another day. The only sour candies I’m not crazy about are sour patched kids because they destroy my tongue and make eating hard. Instead, sour candies like these are much more my style.

Last weekend, Ian and I rented a movie and decided to crack open these bad boys as a treat. Now, you should know that Ian loves Mike & Ike’s. If we were forced to live off one type of candy for the rest of our lives I would choose chocolate covered almonds and Ian would choose Mike & Ike’s. So I fully expected him to like them but they far exceeded my expectations. The fruit punch medley was made up of all sorts of delicious flavours like sour watermelon, apple, lemon and cherry. The best part was that they weren’t too sour. It wasn’t like we were pinching our cheeks together to try to chock them down (ahem * airheads * ahem). They were just good.

Our favourite of the bunch? Probably the fruit punch because it provided such a delicious variety of flavours in each handful. And no, we didn’t manage to eat them all! These boxes are HUGE!!!

Mike and Ike Punch

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

