Butterfinger Peanut Butter Cups – Meh

DSC_3300

On the packaging, Butterfinger Peanut Butter Cups are described as “smooth and crunchy”, which makes them sound absolutely delicious. And they were okay. Truly a B+: decent but not outstanding.

I was just somewhat disappointed because I really expected to love them and I didn’t. The texture of the peanut butter on the inside was too smooth (yes I said too smooth like it’s a thing) and was more candy-like than peanut butter. There was no crumble to it and I found myself longing for a more soft and chewy filling.

Don’t get me wrong, they aren’t bad. I mean, how could they be? They’re made of chocolate and peanut butter – aka the world’s greatest combination. But I won’t be jumping up and down to try them again.

Butterfinger bars have always reminded me of Bart Simpson. This must be because when I was a kid there was a series of advertisements where Bart was holding a Butterfinger bar saying “don’t you dare lay a finger on my Butterfinger”.

Butterfinger Bart_feature

Case and point (click for link).

This memory tells me that targeting kids in the media is effective. Jesh!! I’m almost embarrassed to admit how vividly I remember these commercials. In my defense, the Simpsons was a forbidden show in my house. My parents deemed it ‘inappropriate’ and I was denied the opportunity to watch such a classic cartoon until my tweens when suddenly my parents changed their minds.  Of course, most of the jokes went over my head but as a 13 year old I was all too excited to be watching and I clearly latched onto the show’s merchandise like no tomorrow.

DSC_3297

Oh and if you’re wondering why the packaging is ripped in this picture it’s because we tested them before I remembered to take a photo…my bad.

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

