‘Scuse me while I crack into a Krackel Bar

DSC_3286

When I first spotted this Krackel bar in the box of goodies it struck me as odd. I couldn’t figure out why until I finally realized it was because I’ve only ever seen tiny Halloween-sized Krackel chocolates and never a full size one. Weird right? But I swear full-sized Krackel bars must be in hiding because they are hard to find. When I did a little background research I was happy to discover that I wasn’t crazy. For almost 17 years Krackel was only sold as a miniature candy (i.e. Halloween size) and it wasn’t until 2014 that it was reintroduced as a full-size chocolate bar. Isn’t internet validation the best?!

This chocolate bar has a retro-esque logo. It’s simple, fluff free, and the bright red background screams ‘I’m a classic’, which is pretty perfect because this chocolate bar is about as ‘classic’ as you can get.  When you eat a Krackel bar you know exactly what you’re gonna get and it doesn’t disappoint -a layer of hard milk chocolate with little bits of crispy rice for texture. Simple, light, and delicious.

Frankly, it tastes a lot like Nestle’s Crunch bar so if you’ve had one of those then it’s safe to say you’ve tasted the Krackel combination before. That being said…Nestle and Hersey chocolate products do taste a little different. Don’t you tihnk? Maybe it’s their chocolate recipe? Regardless, in a blind taste test I think you could probably distinguish the two and I’m partial to Hersey so it was lucky I got the Krackel bar instead of a Crunch bar.

Speaking of love for Hersey’s can we take a moment to appreciate how tasty Hersey’s kisses are?? Especially the white/milk chocolate swirl ones….oh yum.

Overall, I tend to fancy chocolate bars with some pizzazz – those stuffed with caramel, peanut butter and sprinkled in rock salt. So my love for the Krackel bar is a bit out of character for me but I would definitely buy this one again. It was predictable, delicious, and I enjoyed it. Simple as that.

Enjoy the sweet stuff,

Urs

All the candy from this blog was given to me by Candy Funhouse but the opinions shared are 100% my own.

P.S. a whole new box of candies have arrived for review!! I can’t wait to dive in and over the next couple weeks I’m going to try to get a bit more creative with the chocolate bars (i.e. baking creations….). Stay tuned.

 

Leave a Reply

